Author Topic: Zodiac Enigma  (Read 2726 times)


  • Monstropedian
  • Realized Monster
  • *******
  • Posts: 607
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Deep in a Cave
Zodiac Enigma
« on: January 06, 2007, 12:18:58 AM »

Zodiac Enigma

Do stars and celestial bodies influence our lives? Mukul Kumar Sharma tries to unravel the mystery of the astrological world

IN the modern era of scientific discoveries and technological advancements, a few things have remained unchanged. The stars and planets were considered to have a significant effect in our everyday lives since ancient times and with the advent of time this belief has persisted. Most people still continue to believe that stars are the causes of oneís fortunes and misfortunes. So, if you are one of those people, who look out for horoscopes, hereís something especially for you. Letís take a peep into the world of zodiac, the basis of ancient astrology.

On a starlit night, if you look up at the sky, you will observe many bright stars arranged in a certain pattern or group. Each group is called a constellation. The number of constellations visible during different times of a year was found to be 12. The sun and the moon were always seen to rise and set in the same direction in which these 12 constellations were located. These 12 constellations are called signs of the zodiac.

Derived from a Greek word meaning, ďCircle of animalsĒ, the Zodiac is believed to have developed in ancient Egypt and was later adopted by the Babylonians. Early astrologers knew it took 12 lunar cycles for the identified 12 constellations they observed were linked to the progression of the persons and animals.

The signs of the zodiac are subdivided into four groups, viz Fire, Water, Air and Earth signs. Each of these groups is inscribed in its own quadrant or Ďhouseí on a circle. The division of the 12 houses is based on the earthís daily rotation and relates to such circumstances as relationships, finances, travel, etc.

That was enough of history. Zodiac is said to have a really big influence in oneís life. Your sun-sign describes your individual character. Its house placement and aspects in your personal horoscope indicate how your personal will is expressed, the direction you are most inclined to take when just being yourself, and all other planetary influences revolve around your sunís desires. The sun also has rulership over the most important men in your life be it your father, friend, husband, etc.

The moon symbolises your emotional nature. It also represents the important women in your life, be it your mother, friend, wife, etc. It is directly associated with your manner of thinking, speaking, and has ruler ship over your overall manner of communication.

Venus represents your affectionate nature, social qualities, and describes any artistic qualities, which you may or may not possess. It also has rulership over finances, material gain, and what you value most in life.

Mars is the indicator of how you take action and assert yourself to satisfy your inner needs as dictated by your sun-sign. This planet shows how you are able to make gains, growths, and advancement in life. Jupiter and its aspects describe how you relate best to circumstances and perceive opportunities in your life. It represents areas of life where you feel restricted.

Saturn is the planet representing what you have deep respect for, take most seriously, and have the greatest fear of. Rules, regulations, and boundaries, which influence your early environment due to the management by elders are described by this planet. It is like the foundation your life is based on, and is directly connected to your ambition.

Uranus represents how the generation in which you were born expresses its attitude towards freedom, inventiveness, and ability to make changes.
Neptune describes your generationís feelings about spiritualism and reaction to the social injustices taking place. Affairs of this planet can be deceptive, chaotic, or even criminal under different aspects.

Pluto acts as the supreme power and is highly evident when there are extreme changes in social, political or religious affairs. It is highly sensitive to the personal planets.

This was all about zodiacís connection with astrology but do you know that zodiac can also be used as a calendar? The zodiac once worked as a symbolic calendar for the Babylonians. The signs of the zodiac are geometric divisions each corresponding to one-twelfth of a year.

The sign of Aries marks the beginning of the year at the Northern Hemisphere vernal equinox. The retreating crab in cancer represents the retreat of the sun from its farthest northern point of the time of the Northern Hemisphere summer solstice. Leo, the symbol of fire, represents summer heat.

The scales of Libra signify the balance between day and night at the autumnal equinox. The decline of the sunís power is represented in Scorpio by the scorpion, the symbol of darkness.

The water bearer Aquarius represents the rainy season. Pisces, symbolises the return of life and the resumption of agriculture western.

Hindu astrologers maintained a tradition of actual observation of the celestial world and have continually adjusted their zodiac to approximately align with the stars and so have abandoned the link between the zodiac and the calendar.

So, as a calendar and as a dominating effect on our lives, the zodiac overrules us. But, how true is this astrological stuff? Most people say yes and some say no.

However, the next time you look up at the stars, donít just think about its mystique association but believe that that through our actions and works, we are born to rule over the universe and the stars and not allow them blindly to rule us.

But what if they really influence our lives?
Itís a never-ending mystery.
The writer is a Coordinator,
Birla High School, Boys

The signs of the zodiac
are subdivided into four groups:
1) Fire signs: Aries, Sagittarius, Leo.
2) Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio. Pisces.
3) Air Signs: Libra, Aquarius, Gemini.
4) Earth Signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo.

Zodiac signs

The names of the zodiac signs and the time when the sun rises and sets in their directions are as follows:
1) Aries - The Ram. 21 Mar. to 19 Apr.
2) Taurus - The Bull. 20 Apr. to 20 May.
3) Gemini - The Twins. 21 May to 22 June.
4) Cancer - The Crab. 22 June to 22 July.
5) Leo - The Lion. 23 July to 22 Aug.
6) Virgo - The Virgin. 23 Aug. to 22 Sept.
7) Libra - The Balance. 23 Sept. to 23 Oct.
8 ) Scorpio - The Scorpion. 24 Oct. to 21 Nov.
9) Sagittarius - The Archer. 22 Nov. to 21 Dec.
10) Capricorn - The Goat. 22 Dec. to 19 Jan.
11) Aquarius - The Water bear. 20 Jan. to 18 Feb.
12) Pisces - The Fish 19 Feb. to 20 Mar.